Moving my blog here from Blogger

October 21, 2008

I had been blogging on blogger.com for a while, but the last few months, I have been increasingly annoyed with the service. Little things, mostly, like the way the editor works and how the Preview mode is very far from the appearance of the published entry.

However, the main reason for the switch was the fact that I simply could not get Emacs support working. g-client took me some of the way, but it wasn’t nearly good enough in its current state.

Just one example: To create a new blog entry, I needed to specify a “post URL”. And to obtain that, I needed to invoke some method (forgot the name) which created a temporary webpage on my harddisk and launched Safari to show it to me! On that webpage, I could then see an overview of the blogs I had on Blogger (a list with 1 element), copy the link to the “post URL” of the blog and paste it back into Emacs.

Also, to save my new entry as a draft, I had to modify the template used for new entries to include some XML snippet that I had to look up in the Google API. And after saving or publishing an entry, the buffer was completely garbled for some reason.

OK, that was a few more examples 😉

I’m not sure if it was just me who completely misunderstood how to use this library, but it seemed extremely rough around the edges.

As I have described in another entry, blogging from Emacs works beautifully with WordPress. And Emacs is where I want to spend my time, also when blogging. I like it here, it’s comfy.

Actually, I was planning on doing a thorough comparison between Blogger and WordPress, but I have realized that this would be pointless, because hundreds of others have done just that. So just google for it if you’re considering which to choose.

Leave a Reply

