Talking the talk

January 16, 2010

I have come to realize that I talk a lot about Clojure, but I don’t really use it.

I am very excited about functional programming in general and Clojure in particular, so I spend a lot of time catching up on the news on this front. Lots of stuff going on, always.

The other day I sat back for a moment and looked over the hundreds of blog entries piled up in my reading list. Suddenly I realized that most of these would be conveying actual experiences with some language or framework. Be it Ruby, Clojure, Erlang or what have you, these authors have actually tried something out and written about it.

This is more than I can say for myself, unfortunately. I do have several pet projects underway, but I’m not making nearly as much progress as I would like to. Why? Because I spend way too much time reading about new stuff. Reading about what everybody else have been making progress on.

So I have decided that I need to code more and read less. Pretty much the opposite decision from the one I made a few years ago, but hey, times change. It’s a tough balance to strike properly, but I guess we all do the best we can.

Right now I’m splitting my spare time between two areas: Functional programming and dynamic languages. More specifically Clojure and Rails. I have a lot of ideas for projects in both camps, but like I said I’m spending way too much time catching up. I have seriously considered ditching one of these areas completely, but I just can’t do it. Both are extremely interesting from different points of view.

And since I need be both places at once, I must be very careful about how I spend my time. If I want to move forward with my projects, I can’t afford to spend entire evenings reading up on almost a hundred technical blogs. Even worse, almost every single entry is tempting me to go on out on a tangent. So much interesting stuff to learn, so little time. But I’m not really in it for the learning. What I really love about being a geek is the part where I create new stuff. And I think that is what I’m good at, too.

I really need to start walking the walk. It’s OK that I’ll fall a little behind the newsstream, because I’ll gain a much deeper understanding of the areas I choose to focus on. And before long, I should be able to contribute interesting new stuff on my blog as well.

2 Responses to “Talking the talk”

  1. Jens Hilligsøe Says:

    Very good point there… The situation is just about the same here. So far 3 weeks into the ‘barsel’ and not a single line of code so far on the pet project – But pretty much up to speed on what Rails 3 will bring, the domain for the project bought, mercurial repo created, new Mac installed (and a couple of older Mac reinstalled and send further down the local ‘food chain’ :-)
    So time is up to ‘walk the walk’ here as well!

  2. chopmo Says:

    Ah yes, that “new Mac”… When you do get started with the coding, it’s going to be a pleasant experience indeed. :-)

    Just out of curiosity, which editor do you use for Ruby?

    Thanks for the comment,
    Jacob


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

